Pinky to Mommy: The Second Trimester

2

 

And we’re at the final stretch (literally and figuratively)! How time flies, really. It still feels like it was just yesterday when I first saw those two lines in the pregnancy test kit (the story here) and now, I am already on my third trimester.

I must say that the last three months have been A LOT easier than the first trimester. Fortunately, my morning sickness was gone by the time I got to my fourth month and I’ve never been so thankful in my life. Imagine saying goodbye to all the nausea and vomiting. Gosh, I don’t miss that feeling at all but going through it made my pregnancy journey a lot more meaningful.

So, how was the second trimester for me?

I feel more at ease with myself. Unlike my first trimester when I had a lot of anxiety, I feel more at ease this time around probably because my body is already well adjusted to the pregnancy, my morning sickness is gone and everything is just a lot better.

I can eat normally again. With the vomiting and food aversion gone, I can finally get back on track when it comes to eating. I now crave for certain foods but not as much. I also eat in small, frequent feedings because I tend to have heartburn when I am full. I can proudly say though that I’ve maintained my weight gain and the doctor said that I’ve been a good eater. Yay for that!

I feel sexier. You might find this funny but really, I’ve never felt sexier in my life. It could be the hormones or just the fact that I’ve embraced this pregnancy with all my heart that I feel more confident about how I look. People have also been complimenting me about how I look, which I am really thankful for. And of course, I have my very supportive mother to thank for my pregnancy style. She has always been keen about me dressing up stylishly while pregnant so that I feel good about myself.

I feel a lot happier. Why wouldn’t I? I’ve been blessed with the most amazing gift that any woman could ever receive! I’m just really happy that through everything, God has surrounded me with the best support system. I’ve never felt so loved by so many people and this baby has also been showered with so much love and affection since day one. Things aren’t perfect but to be honest, I wouldn’t want it any other way. I’ve learned so much about myself and I could say that I am now a better version of myself. I still have gloomy days but generally, I feel a lot happier that I can say that I am where I should be at this point in my life.

I love my baby bump. I am still in awe every time I look at the mirror and see my beautiful baby bump. I always imagined how I would look with a baby bump and now that I already have one, I absolutely love it. No matter how bad life gets, I just need to look at my growing tummy to remind myself that life is good and I am extremely blessed to be given the great honour of becoming a Mommy.

I am so in love with this little human being inside my tummy, especially now that he/she’s already moving a lot. The first time I felt him/her kick inside was one of the best moments of this trimester and now, I really look forward to the kicks every day.

I’ve heard many women say that you’ll never know how much love your heart can hold until you become a mom and it really is true. I already have so much love for this little one and I can’t wait until I can hold him/her in my arms. I am also very happy that everyone is excited to meet him/her very soon.

But for now, we are all looking forward to knowing what the gender is, which we will find out tomorrow! Yay!

Blue or pink, what do you think?

Leave a Reply

