10 Things I’m Thankful For my 27th

 

Thank You!

Annie Spratt

Ah, time really does fly fast and especially when you have a lot on your plate. My life turned from chill to hectic in a span of a few months but I’m not really complaining. I am actually enjoying my domesticated life – cooking at home, cleaning up, organising, doing the laundry and what not – and my love and I are busy starting our new business.

My busy schedule hasn’t given me the time to stop and smell the flowers though and I only realised a few days ago that in less than three weeks, I’ll be turning 28 already. I am excited for another year in my life, that’s for sure, but before I welcome 28, I can’t help but look back on the year that was and these ten things that I’m thankful for:

1

My Family

My family went through a really tough time last year. We started the year with the news that my Ninang’s cancer metastasised and spent the next few months trying to be there for each other as we came to terms with the fact that we were about to lose her. It was in this time of our lives though that I realised how grateful I am to be part of this family. Yes, there was a time when we just got busy with our own lives and probably forgot about the old times when we would spend weekends on the beach or go to the mall together, but last year really bonded us. Losing Ninang was probably the toughest time we went through in the last few years but I am proud to say that we went through it together and it made the pain sting less, the loss a little lighter to take. I love my family and I always will.

My Job

For someone who always loved writing, I consider myself lucky to be doing what I love and getting paid for it. In fact, at the time when almost every part of my life was in chaos, I found comfort in going to work every day and expressing myself through writing. Last year became challenging though because we had to say goodbye to some people and most of them were my friends. Yes, there came a time when I felt like quitting but I decided not to. I love my work because I learned a lot from it. I also built strong friendships in my workplace and even met my love here. For that, I’ll always be thankful.

My Friends

Being away from home is difficult, that’s for sure. Although I’m already used to living on my own (though I’m not going solo anymore hehehe), I still have those days when I needed someone to just be with and fortunately, I have the greatest friends. Last year, I really found out who my true friends are because they were the ones who chose to be brutally honest with me and who stuck with me through my toughest days. For sure, I wouldn’t be in this great place in my life right now without their help.

2

My Travel

I always loved to travel and last year, I finally got to go on a trip to Baguio, one of my favourite places in the world. Although that trip didn’t turn out to be perfect, I had a really great time just stepping out of the daily grind, enjoying the cold weather and getting some R&R. I think it also prepared me for the tough days ahead.

My Past Relationship

Not a lot of people would probably want to talk about a lost relationship. Believe me, I tried to brush this off for a very long time but it was one of the most significant moments of last year that I had to include it here. Losing someone you loved so dearly is never easy. In fact, it was one of my biggest fears, but it happened and I can only do so much about it. That relationship taught me a lot of things. The five years that we were together helped me build the person that I am today. It was good while it lasted, so they say. But more than the pain, I am thankful that I had to go through that phase in my life because now, I know better. I can love better. I can understand better. I can make the right choices.

My Love Bracelet

A lot of people would think that this is silly but I always liked the concept of the Love bracelet and wished that I could have one someday. I’m not really a jewellery person but I loved the fact that this bracelet was simple yet strong, subtle yet classy and plain but very meaningful. So, you can only imagine my joy when one finally arrived in the mail. I have been wearing mine for five months now and it can only be unlocked by of course, the person who locked in into my wrist. πŸ™‚

3

Alvin EnglerΒ Leonie WiseΒ Maximo Amoudruz

Our Little Home

I lived in the same place for four years now but I have to admit that while it was cosy, there were days when my room really felt empty. I always felt that something was missing from it. Late last year though, that missing piece was finally filled by someone. πŸ™‚ My little home has gotten a makeover since both literally and figuratively. I personally asked him to let me paint the walls myself as it was my way of saying goodbye to old memories and saying hello to what is. I had to make some adjustments, for sure, but I didn’t mind really. In fact, I’m loving having someone noisy in the house hehehe. But most of all, I love the little home that we’re slowly building together.

My Faith

I consider myself lucky to have been raised by a God-fearing family and I’ll always be thankful for it. I’ve been through a lot of tough times last year and I couldn’t have survived it without my faith. Through the countless times I wanted to give up, I talked to God to guide me. Through the decisions I had to make, I asked God to help me. I know I still have a lot to do to strengthen my relationship with God but I as I turn 28, I commit to work on it more.

My Detractors

You can’t always please everybody, that’s for sure. I’ve had my share of detractors but last year was probably the toughest. I don’t want to go into details because I choose not to entertain any negativity in my head, but I have to admit, the situations that I’ve been put in really affected me emotionally and psychologically. Instead of wallowing over them, however, I used these situations to my advantage. I learned from them and worked on becoming better. I realised that yes, you need bad situations to make you a better person and for that, I’m thankful.

My Love

Of course, the highlight of my year would have to be my love coming into my life. You see, I’ve been through a lot that I never expected this to come. I was at the point in my life where I wanted to give up on finding the right person. But with God’s goodness, he gave me someone who changed my life in so many ways. I will write about our love story in a different post but I really am very grateful that I have him in my life. I don’t care about what other people say. At the end of the day, it’s us that matter to me the most. πŸ™‚

There are a lot more things that I’m really thankful for in the past year and I cannot wait to see what 28 has in store for me!

Leave a Reply

