Destination Baguio: A Little Throwback and Some Nifty Tricks to Keep in Mind

1

I was going through some photos on my DropBox and stumbled upon some pics from my Baguio birthday holiday last year. Let’s just say that I’ve avoided looking at these photos for quite some time for reasons I choose to keep for myself but I realised that they’re really great and worth-sharing. And besides, it’s Baguio – one of my most favourite places in the world. πŸ™‚

Here are some of my travel photos and a few nifty tricks to help you have the most amazing time in this beautiful city:

2

Book your bus tickets early because trips get fully booked fast, especially during the peak season. I prefer to travel with Victory Liner because their buses are clean and the drivers are great. They also have several trips to and from Baguio, which makes it convenient for travellers who want to make the most of their time in the city. Get your tickets ahead of time in their office or online (although this is unavailable right now) to keep yourself from waiting hours in the terminal for your trip.

If you can, travel during the night because 1) you can catch some snooze during the eight-hour ride, 2) you don’t have to deal with the sun (you know what I mean) and 3) you will arrive in Baguio early in the morning (around 7 to 8 AM), check yourself in or leave your bags in the hotel and start exploring the city while there aren’t too many tourists yet.

3

Don’t take chances with your accommodation and find one that will suit your budget, your itinerary and yes, your preferences. Baguio has a lot of accommodation options. In fact, people will approach you at the terminal offering you this great and inexpensive hotel that you can stay in. My advice: say no. It’s not that these people can’t be trusted but it would be worth your peace of mind to do some research about the place that will be your home during your trip. Baguio is also a different city in terms of landscape (believe me, if you want to lose weight, this is the best place to do some walking), which makes it very important to choose an accommodation that’s 1) near important establishments like malls, restaurants and banks, 2) easily accessible through public transportation and 3) located in the city centre (a lot of budget hotels are located far away). I’ll give you some of my recommended accommodations on another post. πŸ™‚

Unless you want to waste your time and money, plan your itinerary well. Yes, this sounds cliche (and you’re probably rolling your eyes at me) but believe me, you’ll need this when going around Baguio. Here’s the thing: the city is a huge place and its tourist spots are in different locations, so make sure to plan your day well or you’ll end up travelling a lot. By the way, I’ll share my itinerary on a separate post too. πŸ™‚

4

Choose your outfits well because yes, it’s cold in Baguio and it rains A LOT there. I recommend that you wear comfortable clothing because while the sun is out in the city, it’s still cold. This is your chance to do some layering so go for it! Also, opt for your trusty sneakers because you’ll be doing a lot of walking, not to mention that you have to keep your feet dry when it rains, which happens almost every day.

There is, of course, the eternal tip of taking your time. I’m the type of traveller who doesn’t want to rush because for me, doing so defeats my purpose for travelling, which is to enjoy, make memories and relax. Believe me, Baguio weather is very conducive for sleeping so yes, I did take a lot of naps during this trip and I don’t regret it. I also took my time when visiting the city’s tourist spots because there’s so much to see, discover and take in. For instance, I spent more than half a day at the Philippine Military Academy. πŸ™‚ And what’s a good trip without enjoying great food? I did a lot of eating in Baguio and I will share with you my favourite food spots in the city soon.

5

Writing this is kind of making me emotional, yes, but reminiscing the great times is actually a good idea. No matter what happened after this trip, I will always be glad that I got to celebrate my 27th birthday on one of my most favourite cities in the world – Baguio!

One thought on “Destination Baguio: A Little Throwback and Some Nifty Tricks to Keep in Mind

Leave a Reply

